HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Philippians 1)

January 8, 2009 at 9:59 pm 2 comments

Philippians 1 Revisions

HCSB HCSBse
10 so that you can determine what really matters and can be pure and blameless in the day of Christ, 10 so that you can approve the things that are superior and can be pure and blameless in the day of Christ,
12 Now I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has actually resulted in the advancement of the gospel, 12 Now I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has actually resulted in the advance of the gospel,
13 so that it has become known throughout the whole imperial guard, and to everyone else, that my imprisonment is for Christ. 13 so that it has become known throughout the whole imperial guard, and to everyone else, that my imprisonment is in the cause of Christ.
15 Some, to be sure, preach Christ out of envy and strife, but others out of good will. 15 To be sure, some preach Christ out of envy and strife, but others out of good will.
17 the others proclaim Christ out of rivalry, not sincerely, seeking to cause me trouble in my imprisonment. 17 the others proclaim Christ out of rivalry, not sincerely, seeking to cause me anxiety in my imprisonment.
25 Since I am persuaded of this, I know that I will remain and continue with all of you for your advancement and joy in the faith, 25 Since I am persuaded of this, I know that I will remain and continue with all of you for your progress and joy in the faith,
27 Just one thing: live your life in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or am absent, I will hear about you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind, working side by side for the faith of the gospel, 27 Just one thing: Live your life in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or am absent, I will hear about you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind, working side by side for the faith that comes from the gospel,
28 not being frightened in any way by your opponents. This is evidence of their destruction, but of your deliverance–and this is from God. 28 not being frightened in any way by your opponents. This is a sign of destruction for them, but of your deliverance—and this is from God.
30 having the same struggle that you saw I had and now hear about me. 30 having the same struggle that you saw I had and now hear that I have.

Just a couple verse revisions stood out to me here, compared with others below.

Philippians 1:10
(ESV) “so that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ,”

(TNIV) “so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ,”

(NLT) “For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return.”

I’m not sure about verse 12 in the HCSBse…is that proper english? It just doesn’t sound right.

Philippians 1:12
(ESV) “I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel, ”

(TNIV) “Now I want you to know, brothers and sisters, that what has happened to me has actually served to advance the gospel.”

(NLT) “And I want you to know, my dear brothers and sisters, that everything that has happened to me here has helped to spread the Good News.”

Again in verse 13 of the HCSBse – it just seems awkward, even unnecessary, perhaps I am the only one.

Philippians 1:13
(ESV) “so that it has become known throughout the whole imperial guard and to all the rest that my imprisonment is for Christ.

(TNIV) “As a result, it has become clear throughout the whole palace guard and to everyone else that I am in chains for Christ.

(NLT) “For everyone here, including the whole palace guard, knows that I am in chains because of Christ.

Philippians 1:17
(ESV) “The former proclaim Christ out of rivalry, not sincerely but thinking to afflict me in my imprisonment.

(TNIV) “The former preach Christ out of selfish ambition, not sincerely, supposing that they can stir up trouble for me while I am in chains.”

(NLT) “Those others do not have pure motives as they preach about Christ. They preach with selfish ambition, not sincerely, intending to make my chains more painful to me.

Entry filed under: Bible Translations. Tags: , , , , , .

HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 6) HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Philippians 2)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. B  |  January 9, 2009 at 12:12 am

    I see what you mean about v. 12 & 13. No translation is perfect, but I’ve seen the HCSB do so well in some areas only to slip on a banana peel in another. I wonder how they’re doing their usability studies.

  • 2. Joe  |  January 9, 2009 at 3:10 am

    It seems like, looking at the other translations, that they were looking for something similar to “served to advance” – but forgot to change “resulted in the” to “served”. Oh well. I hope the rest of Philippians gets better 🙂

    I also wonder about the electronic text, if that is the final, final, final release…or if perhaps a couple more tweaks will be seen.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wordle: Christian Insight

RSS Christian Monthly Standard

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.