HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Philemon 1)

January 10, 2009 at 9:04 am Leave a comment

Philemon 1 Revisions

HCSB HCSBse
2 to Apphia our sister, to Archippus our fellow soldier, and to the church that meets in your house. 2 to Apphia our sister, to Archippus our fellow soldier, and to the church that meets in your home.
9 I appeal, instead, on the basis of love. I, Paul, as an elderly man and now also as a prisoner of Christ Jesus, 9 I appeal to you, instead, on the basis of love. I, Paul, as an elderly man and now also as a prisoner of Christ Jesus,
10 appeal to you for my child, whom I fathered while in chains–Onesimus. 10 appeal to you for my son, Onesimus. I fathered him while I was in chains.
12 I am sending him–a part of myself–back to you. 12 I am sending him back to you as a part of myself.
16 no longer as a slave, but more than a slave–as a dearly loved brother. This is especially so to me, but even more to you, both in the flesh and in the Lord. 16 no longer as a slave, but more than a slave—as a dearly loved brother. He is especially so to me, but even more to you, both in the flesh and in the Lord.

Again just very minor revisions here. I wanted to compare verse 10 with some other translations though. Surely there is a better way to word that…

Philemon 1:10
(ESV) “I appeal to you for my child, Onesimus, whose father I became in my imprisonment.

(TNIV) “that I appeal to you for my son Onesimus, who became my son while I was in chains.

(NLT) “I appeal to you to show kindness to my child, Onesimus. I became his father in the faith while here in prison.

See! I knew there was a better, clearer way to render this without losing anything. The HCSB is just a little awkward here and less clear with its rendering compared to the other translations. I know that lit. it means something along the lines of, “I gave birth to him” but the NET note brings how the literal rendering could cause some confusion.

(NET) “ I am appealing to you concerning my child, whose spiritual father I have become during my imprisonment, that is, Onesimus,”

NET Note: Grk “my child whom I have begotten.” The adjective “spiritual” has been supplied before “father” in the translation to clarify for the modern reader that Paul did not literally father a child during his imprisonment. Paul’s point is that he was instrumental in Onesimus’ conversion while in prison.

HCSB does have a footnote which helps regarding "I fathered him":
Referring to the fact that Paul led him to Christ;

As always, one is encouraged to study passages within context. The HCSB just makes you think about something you should not need to think about.

Entry filed under: Bible Translations. Tags: , , , , .

HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Colossians 4) HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Titus 1)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wordle: Christian Insight

Recent Posts


