HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Philippians 4)

January 9, 2009 at 3:11 pm Leave a comment

Philippians 4 Revisions

HCSB HCSBse
1 So then, in this way, my dearly loved brothers, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord, dear friends. 1 So then, my brothers, you are dearly loved and longed for—my joy and crown. In this manner stand firm in the Lord, dear friends.
10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last you have renewed your care for me. You were, in fact, concerned about me, but lacked the opportunity to show it. 10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that once again you renewed your care for me. You were, in fact, concerned about me but lacked the opportunity to show it.
17 Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the fruit that is increasing to your account. 17 Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the profit, that is increasing to your account.
18 But I have received everything in full, and I have an abundance. I am fully supplied, having received from Epaphroditus what you provided–a fragrant offering, a welcome sacrifice, pleasing to God. 18 But I have received everything in full, and I have an abundance. I am fully supplied, having received from Epaphroditus what you provided—a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God.

Philippians 4:1 (seems to have grown some in the second edition, but it is more in line with the other translations now)

(ESV) “Therefore, my brothers, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm thus in the Lord, my beloved.”

(TNIV) “Therefore, my brothers and sisters, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord in this way, dear friends!”

(NLT) “Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stay true to the Lord. I love you and long to see you, dear friends, for you are my joy and the crown I receive for my work.”

Philippians 4:17 (Going from fruit to profit caught my attention here)

(ESV) “Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the fruit that increases to your credit.”

(TNIV) “Not that I desire your gifts; what I desire is that more be credited to your account.”

(NLT) “I don’t say this because I want a gift from you. Rather, I want you to receive a reward for your kindness.”

ESVSB note: Likely using a business metaphor, he is seeking the fruit that increases to your credit (cf. esv footnote: “the profit that accrues to your account”).

Philippians 4:18

The change from “a welcome sacrifice” to “an acceptable sacrifice” is a better translation in my opinion.

Entry filed under: Bible Translations. Tags: , , , , , .

HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Philippians 3) HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Colossians 1)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wordle: Christian Insight

Recent Posts


