HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 4)

January 8, 2009 at 3:06 am Leave a comment

Galatians 4 Revisions

HCSB HCSBse
4 But when the completion of the time came, God sent His Son, born of a woman, born under the law, 4 When the time came to completion, God sent His Son, born of a woman, born under the law,
13 you know that previously I preached the gospel to you in physical weakness, 13 you know that previously I preached the gospel to you because of a physical illness.
14 and though my physical condition was a trial for you, you did not despise or reject me. On the contrary, you received me as an angel of God, as Christ Jesus Himself. 14 You did not despise or reject me though my physical condition was a trial for you. On the contrary, you received me as an angel of God, as Christ Jesus Himself.
15 What happened to this blessedness of yours? For I testify to you that, if possible, you would have torn out your eyes and given them to me. 15 What happened to this sense of being blessed you had? For I testify to you that, if possible, you would have torn out your eyes and given them to me.
19 My children, again I am in the pains of childbirth for you until Christ is formed in you. 19 My children, I am again suffering labor pains for you until Christ is formed in you.
20 I’d like to be with you right now and change my tone of voice, because I don’t know what to do about you. 20 I would like to be with you right now and change my tone of voice, because I don’t know what to do about you.
21 Tell me, you who want to be under the law, don’t you hear the law? 21 Tell me, those of you who want to be under the law, don’t you hear the law?
23 But the one by the slave was born according to the flesh, while the one by the free woman was born as the result of a promise. 23 But the one by the slave was born according to the impulse of the flesh, while the one by the free woman was born as the result of a promise.
27 For it is written: Rejoice, O barren woman who does not give birth. Break forth and shout, you who are not in labor, for the children of the desolate are many, more numerous than those of the woman who has a husband. 27 For it is written: Rejoice, childless woman, who does not give birth. Burst into song and shout, you who are not in labor, for the children of the desolate are many, more numerous than those of the woman who has a husband.
30 But what does the Scripture say? Throw out the slave and her son, for the son of the slave will never inherit with the son of the free woman. 30 But what does the Scripture say? Drive out the slave and her son, for the son of the slave will never be a co-heir with the son of the free woman.

Some of the more interesting revisions compared with some other translations.

Galatians 4:13
(ESV) “You know it was because of a bodily ailment that I preached the gospel to you at first,”

(TNIV) “As you know, it was because of an illness that I first preached the gospel to you.”

(NLTse) “Surely you remember that I was sick when I first brought you the Good News.”

Galatians 4:23
(ESV) “But the son of the slave was born according to the flesh, while the son of the free woman was born through promise.”

(TNIV) “His son by the slave woman was born as the result of human effort, but his son by the free woman was born as the result of a divine promise.”

(NLTse) “The son of the slave wife was born in a human attempt to bring about the fulfillment of God’s promise. But the son of the freeborn wife was born as God’s own fulfillment of his promise.”

Galatians 4:27
(ESV) “For it is written, “Rejoice, O barren one who does not bear; break forth and cry aloud, you who are not in labor! …”

(TNIV) “For it is written: “Be glad, barren woman, you who never bore a child; shout for joy and cry aloud, you who were never in labor; …”

(NLTse) “As Isaiah said, “Rejoice, O childless woman, you who have never given birth! Break into a joyful shout, you who have never been in labor! …”

Entry filed under: Bible Translations. Tags: , , , , , .

HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 3) HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 5)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wordle: Christian Insight

Recent Posts


