HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 2)

January 7, 2009 at 4:15 pm Leave a comment

Galatians 2 Revisions

HCSB HCSBse
2 I went up because of a revelation and presented to them the gospel I preach among the Gentiles–but privately to those recognized as leaders–so that I might not be running, or have run, in vain. 2 I went up according to a revelation and presented to them the gospel I preach among the Gentiles—but privately to those recognized as leaders—so that I might not be running, or have run the race, in vain.
5 But we did not yield in submission to these people for even an hour, so that the truth of the gospel would remain for you. 5 But we did not give up and submit to these people for even an hour, so that the truth of the gospel would be preserved for you.
6 But from those recognized as important (what they really were makes no difference to me; God does not show favoritism)–those recognized as important added nothing to me. 6 Now from those recognized as important (what they really were makes no difference to me; God does not show favoritism,)—they added nothing to me.
8 For He who was at work with Peter in the apostleship to the circumcised was also at work with me among the Gentiles. 8 since the One at work in Peter for an apostleship to the circumcised was also at work in me for the Gentiles.
12 For he used to eat with the Gentiles before certain men came from James. However, when they came, he withdrew and separated himself, because he feared those from the circumcision party. 12 For he regularly ate with the Gentiles before certain men came from James. However, when they came, he withdrew and separated himself, because he feared those from the circumcision party.
17 But if, while seeking to be justified by Christ, we ourselves are also found to be sinners, is Christ then a promoter of sin? Absolutely not! 17 But if we ourselves are also found to be “sinners” while seeking to be justified by Christ, is Christ then a promoter, of sin? Absolutely not!
18 If I rebuild those things that I tore down, I show myself to be a lawbreaker. 18 If I rebuild the system I tore down, I show myself to be a lawbreaker.
19 For through the law I have died to the law, that I might live to God. I have been crucified with Christ; 19 For through the law I have died to the law, so that I might live for God. I have been crucified with Christ
20 and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. 20 and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

How does it stack up to other translations?

I’m only going to list the more interesting revisions.

Galatians 2:18
(ESV) “For if I rebuild what I tore down, I prove myself to be a transgressor.”
(TNIV) “If I rebuild what I destroyed, then I really would be a lawbreaker.”
(NLTse) “Rather, I am a sinner if I rebuild the old system of law I already tore down.”

Galatians 2:20
(ESV) “…And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”
(TNIV) “…The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”
(NLTse) “…So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Entry filed under: Bible Translations. Tags: , , , , .

HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 1) HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 3)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wordle: Christian Insight

Recent Posts


