HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 1)

January 7, 2009 at 3:16 am 1 comment

Galatians 1 Revisions

HCSB HCSBse
7 not that there is another gospel, but there are some who are troubling you and want to change the gospel of Christ.

11 Now I want you to know, brothers, that the gospel preached by me is not based on a human point of view.

15 But when God, who from my mother’s womb set me apart and called me by His grace, was pleased

20 Now in what I write to you, I’m not lying. God is my witness.

7 not that there is another gospel, but there are some who are troubling you and want to change the good news about the Messiah.

11 Now I want you to know, brothers, that the gospel preached by me is not based on human thought.

15 But when God, who from my birth set me apart and called me by His grace, was pleased

20 Now I am not lying in what I write to you. God is my witness.

How does it stack up to other translations?

Galatians 1:7
(ESV) “not that there is another one, but there are some who trouble you and want to distort the gospel of Christ.”
(TNIV) “which is really no gospel at all. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion and are trying to pervert the gospel of Christ.”
(NLTse) “but is not the Good News at all. You are being fooled by those who deliberately twist the truth concerning Christ.”

Galatians 1:11
(ESV) “For I would have you know, brothers, that the gospel that was preached by me is not man’s gospel.”
(TNIV) “I want you to know, brothers and sisters, that the gospel I preached is not of human origin.”
(NLTse) “Dear brothers and sisters, I want you to understand that the gospel message I preach is not based on mere human reasoning.”

Galatians 1:15
(ESV) “But when he who had set me apart before I was born, and who called me by his grace,”
(TNIV) “But when God, who set me apart from birth and called me by his grace…”
(NLTse) “But even before I was born, God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace…”

Galatians 1:20
This was just a simple word order change, nothing worth comparing.

Entry filed under: Bible Translations. Tags: , , , , .

Current Bible Translation Bestsellers HCSB and HCSBse Revisions (Galatians 2)

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Wordle: Christian Insight

Recent Posts


